List of government banks in india | Know which banks are government?

Government undertaking banks in india | Details of all nationalised banks in india 2019

What is nationalised banks?

Nationalized banks/Public Sector banks are managed and controlled by the government of India. These are major type of bank in India, where a majority stake (i.e more than 50%) is held by government.

There are currently 19 nationalized banks in India and rest are SBI and its sub-associate banks. Complete list and summary of Government undertaking banks is given below :

1. State Bank of India 
2. Punjab National Bank 
3. Bank of Baroda 
4. Canara Bank
5. Bank of India 
6. Union Bank of India
7. Syndicate Bank
8. Central Bank of India 
9. IDBI Bank
10. Indian Bank
11. Oriental Bank of Commerce
12. Allahabad Bank 
13. Andhra Bank
14. Indian Overseas Bank
15. Corporation Bank
16. UCO Bank
17. Bank of Maharashtra
18. United Bank of India
19. Punjab & Sind Bank

State Bank of India

State Bank of India is the largest and oldest bank in this country. The roots of the SBI lie in the first decade of the 19th century when the Bank of Calcutta later renamed the Bank of Bengal and Imperial Bank of India, was established on 2 June 1806. On 1 July 1955, the Imperial Bank of India became the State Bank of India. This bank is serving more than 42 crore customers through more than 24,000 branches and over 59,000 ATM facilities. Almost every Indian citizen has an account is this bank. The bank also enjoys an international presence with 195 offices set up in 36 counties.

Establishment: 1806
Headquarter: Mumbai

Punjab National Bank

PNB has the distinction of being the first Indian bank to have been started solely with Indian capital that has survived to the present. It was established on 12 April 1895 in Anarkali Bazaar, Lahore, in present-day Pakistan, under the leadership of Lala Lajpat Rai as a part of the Swadeshi movement. As of 31 March 2019, the bank has over 110 million customers, 7001 branches and 10681 ATMs across 764 cities.

Establishment: 1895
Headquarter: New Delhi

Bank of Baroda

Bank of Baroda is the third largest nationalized bank having 9583 branches functioning all over the world and more than 10441 ATM facility centers across India. This bank was established on 20 July 1908 in Vadodara Gujarat. The Maharaja of Baroda, Maharaja H.H. Sir Sayajirao Gaekwad III, founded this bank. The government of India announced the merger of Bank of Baroda, Vijaya Bank and Dena Bank on September 17, 2018 to create the country's third largest lender.
Establishment: 1908
Headquarter: Vadodara

Canara Bank

One of the largest public sector banks in India, which was founded as 'Canara Bank Hindu Permanent Fund' in 1906 which makes it one of the oldest serving banks in India. The bank changed its name to Canara Bank Limited in 1910 when it incorporated. In 1996, Canara Bank became the first Indian Bank to get ISO certification for 'Total Branch Banking' for its Seshadripuram branch in Bangalore. Canara Bank had 6310 branches and more than 10026 ATMs as of 31 March 2019.

Establishment: 1906
Headquarter: Bengaluru

Bank of India

BOI is one of the top 5 banks in India, having more than 5100 branches in the country and 56 branches outside India. This bank is a founder member of SWIFT (Society for Worldwide Inter Bank Financial Telecommunications). The government has a stake of 64.4% in this bank.
Establishment: 1906
Headquarter: Mumbai

Union Bank of India

UBI was set up on 11 November 1919 in Mumbai, as a limited company and was inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi. The government owns over 90% of its share capital. It has more than 4200 branches all over India including four overseas branches and more than 7000 ATM facility centers.
Establishment: 1919
Headquarter: Mumbai

Syndicate Bank

Syndicate Bank is considered as one of the most trustworthy banks in this country. At the time of its establishment, the bank was known as Canara Industrial and Banking Syndicate Limited. It has been awarded many times for its services and products. The primary objective of the business was to extend the financial assistance to local weavers. Initially, the bank collected as low as two annas from the door steps of the customers daily through its agents. This type of system wherein the agents of the bank come doorsteps to collect deposit is still present in India and is referred to as the Pigmy Deposit Scheme. Syndicate Bank was nationalized in 1969 by government of India.

Establishment: 1925
Headquarter: Manipal

Central Bank of India

This bank have a presence in all the 29 states and 6 of the 7 Union Territories of India. At present, the bank has 4,715 branches.
Establishment: 1911
Headquarter: Mumbai


IDBI Bank (Industrial Development Bank of India) is considered as the largest commercial banks of India. IDBI has played a major role in providing credit and other financial facilities for the development of the fledgling Indian industry. The bank has about 3900 ATM centers and 2000 branches 
Establishment: 1964
Headquarter: Mumbai

Indian Bank

It has around 2820 branches functioning all over India, the government has a share of 81.51% in this bank. This Bank came into existence as a part of the Swadeshi movement on 15th August 1907. 
Establishment: 1907
Headquarter: Chennai

Oriental Bank of Commerce

OBC is one of the public sector banks in India. It was established initially in Lahore before partition which was shifted to Gurgaon, India.
Establishment: 1943
Headquarter: Gurugram

Allahabad Bank

Allahabad Bank is the oldest joint stock bank in India. It was founded in Allahabad in 1865 Allahabad and has over 3245 branches across India.
Establishment: 1865
Headquarter: Kolkata

Andhra Bank

It is one of the most famous banks in South India. Freedom fighter, Pattabhi Sitaramayya, founded this bank.
Establishment: 1923
Headquarter: Hyderabad

Indian Overseas Bank

IOB have about 3700 branches and 8 branches and offices overseas.
Establishment: 1937 
Headquarter: Chennai

Corporation Bank

this bank has a network of 2600 fully automated CBS branches, 3040+ ATMs, and 4724 branchless banking units. The government of India has a 100% stake in this bank.
Establishment: 1906
Headquarter: Mangalore

UCO Bank

This bank was established in Kolkata, West Bengal. It was founded by Ghanshyam Das Birla.
Establishment: 1943
Headquarter: Kolkata

Bank of Maharashtra

The Bank of Maharashtra was started on 16 September 1935 in Pune, Maharashtra.
Establishment: 1935
Headquarter: Pune

United Bank of India

Establishment: 1950
Headquarter: Kolkata

Punjab & Sind Bank

Establishment: 1908
Headquarter: New Delhi

India Post Payments Bank

This bank was set up on 1 September 2018 in New Delhi, and the government has a 100% stake in it.

Which bank is safest in India?

Every Government banks are safe including some top level private bank like HDFC, ICICI, AXIS for the depositor point of view, why?

  • Our money in all banks are safe which is regulated by RBI .
  • Deposit with the Scheduled Banks are Insured upto Rs One Lakh by DICGC in the case of collapse of Banks.
  • Government does not allow the ordinary depositors to suffer due to the misdeeds of the Bank management. 
  • The interest of the depositors in these banks were taken care of.

Related Posts :

Check Your Cibil Score in minutes..Learn how?

Smartwatch Benefits, Price and features

If you want any information related to it, please comment below. If you find this article useful, then share it with your friends.

List of government banks in india | Know which banks are government? List of government banks in india | Know which banks are government? Reviewed by AwarenessBOX on 03:40 Rating: 5

No comments